Sauber 2010 logo 

PP Sauber AG

Address Wildbachstrasse 9, 8340 Hinwil, Switzerland
Web Official Site
Team Principles Frédéric Vasseur FRA (2017-present)
Monisha Kaltenborn
IND (2012-2017)
Peter Sauber
CH (1993-2005, 2010-2012)
Designers Jorg Zander GER (2017)
Mark Smith
GBR (2016)
Eric Gandelin
FRA (2014-15)
Matt Morris
GBR (2013)
James Key
GBR (2011-2012)
Christoph ZImmerman
CH (2010)
Willi Rampf
GER (2000-2005, 2010)
Sergio Rinland
ARG (2000)
Leo Ress
GER (1993-1999)

Team History & Record

After very successfully directing the Mercedes sports car program through the late 1980's, Swiss Peter Sauber began preparations to bring his team and Mercedes into F1 in 1992. Although Mercedes withdrew full-factory support at the end of 1991, they continued to help fund the project indirectly with the supply of Ilmor/Mercedes engines used during the first two seasons. Sauber drafted into his team several of the drivers from his sports car program, including two of the three "Mercedes Junior Team"; Karl Wendlinger and Heinz-Harald Frentzen (the third being Michael Schumacher who was already winning races for Benetton). The team scored points on several occasions, including fifth place in its debut, which prompted Mercedes to give more backing for 1994 running as "Sauber Mercedes". The team scored points in the first three races, but were thrown into turmoil when Karl Wendlinger was seriously injured during practice at Monaco. He was replaced by veteran Andrea de Ceasaris who scored a point on just one occasion before he himself was replaced by JJ Lehto for the final two GP.

Year Chassis Engine Tyre # / Driver 1
# / Driver 2
Start Win Pole FLap Pts Pos
1993 C12 Ilmor 2175B V10 GY 29 Lehto
30 Wendlinger
16 0 0 0 12 7th
1994 C13 Mercedes 2175B V10 GY 29 Wendlinger (3 races) / DeCesaris (9) / Lehto (2)
30 Frentzen
14 0 0 0 12 8th
1995 C14 Ford Zetec-R V8 GY 29 Wendlinger (6) / Boullion (11)
30 Frentzen
17 0 0 0 18 7th
1996 C15 Ford Zetec-R V10 GY 14 Herbert
15 Frentzen
16 0 0 0 11 7th
1997 C16 Ferrari 047 V10 GY 14 Herbert
15 Larini / Morbidelli / Fontana
17 0 0 0 16 7th
1998 C17 Ferrari 047/1 V10 GY 14 Alesi
15 Herbert
16 0 0 0 10 6th
1999 C18 Ferrari 047/2 V10 BS 11 Alesi
12 Diniz
16 0 0 0 5 8th

Sauber Red Bull logo

At the end of the 1994 season Mercedes withdrew its backing and the team switched to the proven Ford V8 for 1995. With major sponsorship (and an ownership stake) from Red Bull and better reliability the team accrued its highest point total so far. Although Wendlinger tried return at the beginning of the season it was clear he was not able to match his team-mate, Frentzen and he was replaced by F3000 Champion, Jean-Christophe Bouillon after four races. The young Frenchman scored points on just twice and Wendlinger returned again for the final two GP but was still off the pace.

Petronas logo

The Malaysian national oil company, Petronas, became a major sponsor of the team for 1996 and funded the purchase of Ferrari engines from 1997 on. These engines were, generally, one season behind the specification used by the works team and were badged as "Petronas V10" in deference to the company paying for them. However, despite employing a blend of upcoming stars (Kimi Raikkonen, Nick Heidfeld and Felipe Massa) and experienced drivers (Jean Alesi, Johnny Herbert and Jacques Villeneuve) the team was unable to break out of the mid-pack.

1997 C17
1997 C17

1996 C16 launch
1996 C16

Although initially heavily aligned with Ferrari, Sauber moved to become a fully independent manufacturer and invested heavily in the infrastructure at their Hinwil base with a state of the art wind tunnel and a CFD super computer (named "Albert"). When Dietrich Mateschitz bought his own team and moved the Red Bull sponsorship at the end of 2004, Peter Sauber looked for new investors. The advanced facilities were one of the main reasons BMW bought the team at the end of the 2005 season to become the works BMW Sauber F1 Team.

Year Chassis Engine Tyre # / Driver 1
# / Driver 2
Start Win Pole F Lap Pts Pos
2000 C19 Ferrari 047/3 V10 BS 16 Diniz
17 Salo
16 0 0 0 6 8th
2001 C20 Ferrari 047/4 V10 BS 16 Heidfeld
17 Raikkonen
17 0 0 0 21 4th
2002 C21 Ferrari 049 V10 BS 7 Heidfeld
8 Massa / Frentzen
17 0 0 0 11 5th
2003 C22 Ferrari 050 V10 BS   9 Heidfeld
10 Frentzen
16 0 0 0 19 6th
2004 C23 Ferrari 051 V10 BS 11 Fisichella
12 Massa
18 0 0 0 34 6th
2005 C24 Ferrari 053 V10 MI 11 J Villeneuve
12 Massa
19 0 0 0 20 8th

When BMW announced its withdrawal from F1 at the end of 2009 the team was set to be purchased by Qadbak Investments, but the deal fell apart when Swiss media exposed Qadbak as a shell company with no real investors. BMW then agreed to sell the team back to Peter Sauber contingent on them being granted the 13th spot on the grid - which was only made available when Toyota left F1. The team switched back to long-time partner Ferrari for its engine supply and unveiled the almost sponsor-less C29 in time for the first test session of the season. Hampered by lack of development time and funding, the team (running as "BMW Sauber F1 Team" because a name change had not yet been requested) struggled early in the early races both with reliability and driver mistakes. It was not until the 7th race (Turkey) that they scored their first point with Kamui Kobayashi finishing 10th. The Japanese went on to score several points finishes in the second half of the season, along with Nick Heidfeld who replaced Pedro de la Rosa for the last five GP.

C29 launch at Valencia, January 2010     Sergio Perez at the 2011 Malaysian GP in the C30         

The team announced major changes for 2011 with GP2 runner-up Sergio Perez joining Kobayashi, as well as test driver Estaban Gutièrrez, with major sponsorship coming from Mexican telecommunications company, Telmex. The C30 was reliable from the start of the season and the team posted some solid performances in the opening races but had a set back when Perez crashed heavily in qualifying at Monaco. Pedro de la Rosa stood in for the injured Mexican at the next race (Canada) and the team seemed to lose momentum, ending the season 7th in the Constructors Championship.

  Sauber  Logo   

With additional sponsorship, including a tie-up with English Premier League team Chelsea, the team entered the 2012 season with high hopes. They were not disappointed as the C31 proved to be fast, well balanced and very easy on its tyres, with the team scoring points at 12 races, taking 4 podiums (with Perez twice finishing second) and 2 fastest laps on their way to a solid 6th in the championship.

Year Chassis Engine Tyre # / Driver 1
# / Driver 2
Start Win Pole F Lap Pts Pos
2010 C29 Ferrari 056 V8 BS 26 Kobayashi
27 De la Rosa / Heidfeld (5 races)
19 0 0 0 44 8th
2011 C30 Ferrari 056 V8 PI 16 Kobayashi
17 Perez / De la Rosa (1 race)
TD Gutièrrez
19 0 0 0 44 7th
2012 C31 Ferrari 056 V8 PI 14 Kobayashi
15 Perez

TD Gutièrrez
20 0 0 2 126 6th
2013 C32 Ferrari 056 V8 PI 11 Hulkenburg
12 Gutièrrez

TD Frjins
19 0 0 1 57 7th
2014 C33 Ferrari 059/3 V6t Hybrid PI 99 Sutil
21 Gutièrrez

TD Van der Garde / Sorotkin / Fong
19 0 0 0 0 10th
2015 C34 Ferrari 059/4 V6t Hybrid PI 9   Ericsson
12 Nasr
TD Marciello
19 0 0 0 36 8th
2016 C35 Ferrari 059/5 V6t Hybrid PI 9   Ericsson
12 Nasr
21 0 0 0 2 10th
2017 C36 Ferrari 059/5 V6t Hybrid PI 9   Ericsson
94 Wehrlein / Giovinazzi (2 races)
TD Giovinazzi / Leclerc
20 0 0 0 5 10th
2018 C37 Ferrari 063 V6t Hybrid PI 9   Ericsson
16 Leclerc
- - - - - -
        TOTAL 302 0 0 3 334  

Return to the F1 Teams Index