Mercedes AMG logo

Mercedes AMG F1 Team

Address Brackley, Northants, NN13 7YY England
Web Official Site
Team Principles Paddy Lowe GBR (2013 - present)
Toto Wolff AUT (2013 - present)
Ross Brawn
GBR (2010 - 2013)
Designers Geoff Willis  GBR (2013)
Bob Bell
GBR (2011-present)
Loic Bigois 
FRA (2010)
Jorg Zander 
GER (2010)

Team History

Following its hugely successful debut season the Brawn Grand Prix team was purchased by its engine supplier Mercedes, running as a full-works program in 2010 as "Mercedes GP". In December, after weeks of speculation, it was announced that 7-time World Champion Michael Schumacher was coming out of retirement to drive for the team. Though fast the team could not break into the top three teams in 2010 despite several podium finishes by Nico Rosberg, who outshone his lauded teammate. In 2011 the team struggled further and though they finished in the same spot in the Constructors Championship, neither driver took a podium finish.

For 2012 the team, now known as "Mercedes AMG F1 Team", radical "double DRS" system that was protested by several teams but ultimately deemed legal. Although Rosberg took win and pole position at the Chinese GP and second place at Monaco, it was not a complete success and the team lost ground to the reinvigorated Lotus F1.

Michael Schumacher in the rain at the 2010 Malasian GP Nico Rosberg at the 2011 Turkish GP Monaco 2012: Schumacher in the W03

Major changes came about at the end of 2012 with Norbert Haug resigning from Mercedes and Schumacher retiring again, his comeback something of a failure. To replace him the team pulled off a coup in luring Lewis Hamilton away from McLaren and the 2013 season saw the team leap up the standings.  At the halfway point the team had 3 wins but they could not match the Red Bull Racing performance during the latter stages and finished a distant second.

2014 saw a huge change in regulations and the introduction of 1.6L V6 turbocharged hybrid power units and it was Mercedes that proved to be the class of the field. The team was thwarted from taking every pole position of the season by Felipe Massa's Mercedes powered Williams and only Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing was able to take away race wins. The Constructors Chmapionship was won with three races to spare but Hamilton and Rosberg took the Drivers title fight to the very last race, with the Briton victorious.

The team continued to steamroller the field during 2015 with Lewis Hamilton repeating as Drivers' Championship with races to spare and only Vettel's Ferrari able to pose a real threat.

Year Chassis Engine Tyre # / Drivers Start Win Pole F Lap Pts Pos
2010 MGP-W01 Mercedes FO108X V8 BS 3 M.Schumacher
19 0 0 0 214 4th
2011 MGP-W02 Mercedes FO108Y V8 PI 7 M.Schumacher
19 0 0 0 165 4th
2012 MGP-W03 Mercedes FO108Z V8 PI 7 M.Schumacher
20 1 1 3 142 5th
2013 MGP-W04 Mercedes FO108Z V8 PI 8 Hamilton
TD Bird
19 3 8 1 360 2nd
2014 MGP-W05 Mercedes PU106A V6t Hybrid PI 44 Hamilton
6   N.Rosberg
TD Wehrlein
19 16 18 12 701 1st
2015 MGP-W06 Mercedes PU106B V6t Hybrid PI 44  Hamilton
6    N.Rosberg
TD Wehrlein
19 15 17 12 660 1st
2016 MGP-W07 Mercedes PU106C V6t Hybrid PI 44  Hamilton
6    N.Rosberg
21 19 20 9 765 1st
2017 MGP-W08 Mercedes M08 V6t Hybrid PI 44 Hamilton
77 Bottas
20 12 15 9 668 1st
2018 MGP-W09 Mercedes M09 V6t Hybrid PI 44 Hamilton
77 Bottas
- - - - - -


136 54 64 37 3008  


2017 Drivers' Championship (Lewis Hamilton)
2017 Constructors' Championship
2016 Drivers' Championship (Nico Rosberg)
2016 Constructors' Championship
2015 Drivers' Championship (Lewis Hamilton)
2015 Constructors' Championship
2014 Drivers' Championship (Lewis Hamilton)
2014 Constructors' Championship
Lewis Hamilton 2013 Malaysian GP Nico Rosberg winning the 2014 Brazilian GP  

Return to the Teams Index

MCZ F1 logo