Brawn GP logo

Brawn GP

Address Brackley, Northants, NN13 7YY England
Web Official Site
Team Principles Ross Brawn GBR (2009)
Designers Loic Bigois  FRA (2009)
Jorg Zander 
GER (2009)

Team History

Rising from the ashes of the Honda F1 program just weeks before the start of the 2009 season, the team went on to astonish the F1 world by qualifying and finishing 1st and 2nd at the opening race in Australia. The teams use of a "double diffuser" design at the rear of the car (along with Williams and Toyota) led to protests from other teams but was pronounced legal by the FIA, leading to all the teams adopting the design by mid-season. This early advantage saw Jenson Button take six victories in the first seven races and although he did not win another GP all season, the cushion was enough to take the Drivers Championship. Team-mate Rubens Barrichello took two wins and four other podiums as the two drivers failed to score points on just three occasions throughout the season, allowing the team to win both titles in their debut season.

Sponsorship from the Virgin-brand was on the cars throughout 2009 and a major investment was expected for 2010, but during the second half of the season it was revealed that Virgin would sponsor Manor GP in 2010, leading to speculation about funding for the team. Two weeks after the end of the 2009 season it was announced that engine supplier Mercedes would take a major stake in the team and that for 2010 it would be re-branded, Mercedes Grand Prix.  

Year Chassis Engine Tyre # / Drivers Start Win Pole F Lap Pts Pos
2009 BGP001 Mercedes FO108W V8 BS 22 Button 
23 Barrichello
17 8 5 4 172 1st


17 8 5 4 172  


2009 Constructors' Championship
2009 Drivers' Championship (Jenson Button)


Jenson Button shakes down the BGP001 at Silverstone, March 2009   BGP001 at Silverstone shakedown

EMail your comments, suggestions and updates to:

Return to the Teams or Drivers Index

MCZ F1 logo