Hispania Racing Team

Spanish flag

Headquarters Parque Technolgico Fuente Alamo, Murcia, Spain
Website Official Site
Team Principles Luis Perez-Sala ESP (2012)
Colin Kolles ROM (2010-2011)
Designers Geoff Willis GBR (2011)
Paul White
GBR (2011)
Luca Pignacca
ITA (2010)
Ben Agathanegelou GBR (2010)
Gabriele Tredozi ITA (2010)


HRT Team History & Record

Former Minardi driver and GP2 team owner Adrian Campos teamed with former Super Aguri manager Daniele Audetto to obtain one of the new team entries for the 2010 World Championship. With backing from Spanish sports agency Meta Image, the new team contracted with experienced constructor Dallara to supply chassis and Cosworth for engines.

As the start of the season approached, the car had still not appeared in testing and it became apparent that Campos would be unable to fulfill the financial obligations required. With just two weeks before the first race, the team was taken over by shareholder Jose Ramon Carabante and renamed Hispania Racing F1, who hired veteran Colin Kolles to run the squad. The cars were sent to Bahrain for the first race without ever having turned a wheel and its performance reflected this.

Geoff Willis was brought in as a consultant and was very critical of the chassis design and build quality. By May of 2010, HRT and Dallara had parted ways and the team started on the preparation of the 2011 chassis alone. With very little development work done on the F110 the team struggled mightily and apart from Bruno Senna, used a multitude of drivers. Senna's 14th place in Korea was the team's best finish.

The run up to the 2011 was just as contentious  with a deal to use Toyota's never-raced TF110 car failing apart when the team did not make payments on-time. Once again the team was rumored to be up for sale but Indian sponsorship brought in by Narain Karthikeyan was enough to get the pair of F111 cars finished and shipped to Australia without turning a wheel. Neither qualified but they began to improve as the season went on, though they never threatened to score any points.

In July 2011 it was announced that Thesan Capital, a Madrid based investment company had bought out Jose Ramon Carabante and announced plans to make the team "more Spanish". At the end of the season Colin Kolles abruptly left the team and was replaced by former Minardi driver, Luis Perez-Sala. Thesan also announced that the team was moving its headquarters to Madrid and signed Spaniard Pedro de la Rosa to partner Karthikeyan.

Once again the team did no pre-season testing - this time caused by the F112 initially failing the FIA crash tests - and didn't qualify in Australia. The car qualified for the other races but was always off the pace and hardly any development work was carried out. The best result was a 15th in Monaco by Karthikeyan.

By the end of the 2012 season Thesan officially put the team up for sale but no bidders were found before the deadline to pay the entry fees for the 2013 season and the teams assets were liquidated.

Year Chassis Engine Tyres # / Driver  Start Win Pole F Lap Pts Pos


F110 Cosworth CA2010 V8 BS 20 Chandhok (10) / Yamamato (6) / Klien (3)
21 B.Senna (18) / Yamamato (1)
19 0 0 0 0 11th


F111 Cosworth CA2011 V8 PI 22 Karthikeyan (7) / Ricciardo (11)
23 Liuzzi (17) / Karthikeyan (1)
TD Charouz
18 0 0 0 0 11th


F112 Cosworth CA2012 V8 PI 22 De la Rosa
23 Karthikeyan

TD Clos / Ma Qing Hua
19 0 0 0 0 12th


56 0 0 0 0  

2010 Australian GP: Karun Chandhok in the F110 Tonio Liuzzi in the F111 during the 2011 Belgian GP Test driver Dani Clos in the F112 at Korean GP 2012

EMail your comments, suggestions, updates and corrections to:

Return to the Teams Index