Lotus F1 Racing

British flag Malaysian flag

Headquarters Hethel, Norfolk, England
Sepang Inl Circuit, Malaysia
Website Official Site
Team Principles Tony Fernandes MAL
Designers Mike Gascoyne GBR

Lotus F1 Team History & Record

After failing in his initial bid to enter the 2010 World Championships in partnership with F3 team Lightspeed, Mike Gascoyne continued to work on securing backing for an entry with Malaysian government backing and was successful when BMW pulled out of F1. Although the new team will be based initially at Hethel, a few miles from the Lotus Cars factory (owned by Malaysian company Proton), plans call for a technical center to be built at the Sepang International Circuit in  Kuala Lumpur and will be called "Lotus F1" to distinguish it from the old "Team Lotus". Air Asia CEO Tony Fernandes, who's company had sponsored Williams in 2009, would be the CEO with Gascoyne as Technical Director.

Year Chassis Engine Tyres # / Driver  Start Win Pole F Lap Pts Pos


T127 Cosworth CA2010 V8 BS 18 Trulli
19 Kovalainen

TD Fauzy
19 0 0 0 0 10th


TL11 Renault RS31 V8 PI 20 Trulli / Chandhok (1 race)
21 Kovalainen

- - - - - -


- - - - -  

2010 Lotus T127-Cosworth launch photo

EMail your comments, suggestions, updates and corrections to:


Return to the Teams Index